The Kondinin Group and ABC Rural Australian Farmer of the Year Awards are designed to celebrate and applaud the outstanding achievements of those individuals and families making a significant contribution to Australian Agriculture.

Nominations are provided by the community, with winners selected by a panel of judges comprising respected Australian agricultural industry leaders, each with a unique understanding of Australian agriculture.

Award winners will take part in a Leadership Program supported by the Department of Agriculture and Water Resources. This Major Prize, a one-day workshop aimed at leadership development within the agricultural industry, allows Award winners to develop their leadership capacity, grow industry networks and build their communication skills to represent the bright future of the industry.

The 2020 Award winners will be announced at an exclusive event at Parliament House in Canberra, incorporating a networking event, and a live outside broadcast of ABC Rural’s nationwide Country Hour radio program.

Last Year's Winners

The winners of the 2019 Farmer of the Year Awards. From left to right: Nils Blumann; Andrew Martin; Sally Murfet; Ben Martin; Susie Daly; Brad Woolridge; Gerard Daly; Tracey Woolridge; Chengdao Li; Jackie Jarvis; and Sally Downey.

Minister for Agriculture, Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie with the 2019 Farmer of the Year Award winners Susie and Gerard Daly  

Awards timeline

Award nominations open
Award nominations close
Professional development workshop for Award winners
Announcement ceremony at Parliament House
Awards feature in Farming Ahead magazine






What attendees and participants think of the Awards

The Venue

Parliament House 
Parliament Drive, Canberra, ACT 2600

Phone:  +61 2 9228 9188

Website | Directions

Other Aspermont Events

Brought to you by